Getting excited for the Olympics

Embed from Getty Images

It’s less than two weeks away and I for one am getting really excited about the Olympics, in Rio this year. 4 years ago the Olympics was in my home country and the only disappointment that I have, is that I didn’t get or apply for any tickets to go, as looking back on it, it was a once in a lifetime opportunity.

I don’t think there is any sports competition on this planet that comes anywhere close to the Olympics in stature, magnitude and meaningfulness. Yes there is the World Cup, The SuperBowl etc. etc. but the Olympics are something very special. I believe that there is no greater accomplishment in sport than winning an Olympic Gold Medal. Being an Olympic Gold Medalist sets you apart and makes you very special indeed.

Feel Good factor

In 2012 the Olympics brought a feel good factor to the whole of the UK. Not just for the two weeks of the competition but for the build up as well, as the Olympic Torch proceeded throughout the country, with everyone being able to touch and feel the brand of the Olympics. The other night my wife and I watched the opening ceremony from 2012 again and it just took us back to the experience of the last Olympics, where we were and what we were doing.

Although we have the time difference to contend with I am looking forward to getting caught up in Olympics fever again, watching as much as I can on the TV and being inspired by the events that I watch. I don’t remember being as in to the Olympics when I was a kid as I am now, but I hope I can pass on my enthusiasm now to my children and that they enjoy the Olympics growing up.

Going down in history

Regardless of what happens each Olympics always goes down in history, with many conversations across the globe starting with “do you remember when.” Not only do you have that but you also have footage from the history of the Olympics that is used in many TV programmes and a lot of news coverage for decades and centuries to come.

I will be watching avidly at home, enjoying watching history being made and being inspired by the amazing competition that unfolds. So much seems to divide our world at the moment, so never has there been a better time for the Olympics, an event that brings the world together.

Leave a Reply

