Jo Cox and uniting against the hatred that killed her

I think a friend of mine summed up the sadness of the situation that unfolded yesterday, when they took to Twitter to say:

“Jo Cox protected the vulnerable, spoke for the voiceless, challenged ignorance, stood in the gap, loved hard and without fear. Dark day.”

Jo’s husband then went on to release the most eloquent of statements about the death of his wife and mother of his two children, that I know I would not have been able to give if I was in his situation:

“She would have wanted two things above all else to happen now, one that our precious children are bathed in love and two, that we all unite to fight against the hatred that killed her. Hate doesn’t have a creed, race or religion, it is poisonous.”

How as a father do you even start to explain to your children that another human being, whilst just walking on your average street in the middle of the day, murdered their mum whilst she was just doing her job? Jo was not in the Armed Forces and fighting in a war, she was just simply going around her community, listening to the general public and trying her best to make her community the best place it could be.

Divisiveness

The media and divisive politicians and political parties caused this to happen. No longer should people be able to hide away and be able to say “we didn’t want what happened to Jo Cox to happen.” By consistently peddling ideologies of hate and division they have poisoned the minds of many in this country and it is something as a country we should not allow to keep on happening.

When did we stop caring for others, when did we stop caring for those less fortunate than us? No one gets the chance to choose what country and situation they are born in to, so why are we discriminating against others because of this? Something they have got no choice in. We are one race – the human race. If I could make a better life for my family in another country, I hope that country would welcome us and show us love. If we ever had to flee our country because of war, oppression, slavery, starvation etc. etc. I hope that other countries would take us in.

Contribution and compassion

Regardless of family background and country of birth, those people that are contributing to our society should be championed. It is the people who have come here for help that we should be showing compassion to. It is the people who are blaming any problem this country has on immigrants and religion that are the ones we should be worried about.

For far too long we have laid the blame of hate at the feet of religion, which has stopped people actually looking at the real hate brewing in society and the real causes of it. Sadly hate has just become acceptable in this society and sometimes even ‘cool.’ We need to stop trolling people, hating people because they lead a better or a perceived better life, hating people because they support a different football team. I could go on and on and on.

Human beings first

Lets start looking at the human being first, before the things that make us different, as the things that make us different don’t matter. Lets start reaching for love before we reach for hate. I know I was always raised as a kid to help others, to not judge others and to treat everyone as an equal. I thought this was the British way and part of what made this country great; I think we need to go back to our traditional values before we let everyone change them.

I know the things that enrich my life and make me who I am are my family and my friends; I am better with them than I would have ever been without them. I plan to do my best to be a great part in the lives in as many people as possible. It’s time for us all to be the change we want to see in the world. To not accept the messages that some of the media and politics want us to hear and make our decisions based on our own moral compasses. If I can I will always help anyone and I hope many people will do the same.

Leave a Reply

