Moving on

This week I have been helping my dad pack up the old family home, which a sale was recently agreed on. We moved in to this house when I was 1 and I grew up in that house. Last night as I looked around the empty house for the final time, the memories of all the great things that happened in that house came flooding back to me and really moved me more than I thought it would.

Realisation

Selling it was the right thing to do and a decision that was taken some time ago but it wasn’t until last night that the realisation hit, the realisation that it was no longer our family home and we would never be going back in. Even though I hadn’t lived there in a while and I have a new place I call home, that house was still part of me. Yes no one can take the memories from me and it is the people that make the home, not the bricks but it is sad that the physical representation of it all is no more.

Today the removal vans are probably starting to roll up as I type this and a new family are probably deciding upon who gets each room. I just hope this family loves the house, that the rooms are filled with joy and laughter, but most of all that moving to our old home leads to a great period in their life.

Attached

It is strange how attached we can become to buildings and it is strange how our emotions work. Emotions can make moving on tricky as they aren’t constant. Some days you can feel fine about something and you feel like you have it all under control, then some days you feel sad about something and feel like you don’t have it under control.

The things I try and do are – let myself be upset and feel the emotion and once I have done that, to focus on the positives for the future. Sometimes you may not want to or be able to see any positives, but if you really try you can always find some positives.

I think I have got at least one more house move to make in my future but I know that the experience of the last few weeks will help me through it. The one thing I have to keep telling myself is – to associate the memories not with the buildings but with the people that were in them.

Leave a Reply

