Don’t put things off

Due to the many plates that my wife and I balance; a lot of things recently have been put on the backburner. The last few months of our lives have called us to focus on certain areas of our life, but this week we have transitioned in to a new season. With this new season our aim is to catch up on a lot of things that need doing.

Instead of just saying we are going to do this and that over the summer, my wife and I have formalized a list of what needs doing and when we are going to do it by. We then printed the list out and put it up to remind us of what we are doing when.

Get that happy feeling

A lot of things on the list aren’t life changing or imperative to be done (this is why they have been on the backburner) but they are things we want to do and things that once they are done will make us feel happy to know they are done. Like one of the things I want to do is completely remove a hedge from the side of our property, because I have wanted to do this and had the idea to do this for so long I now can’t wait to get started on it. Also by removing it, it is going to save me a lot of time in future years of not having to maintain it.

Finally now my wife and I have time back on our side but just because we do, we don’t want to waste it. It is our aim to keep to our intentional way of living and spend our time intentionally. As a family we love being productive, so having plans and lists really help us live our life, as we want to live it.

Don’t carry it around with you

It is surprising how much putting something off can get to you on the inside. The knowledge that you have so many things you think need doing or want to do can weigh you down so much. Although you may not be thinking about it all the time, it doesn’t mean that you aren’t carrying it around with you.

You may not enjoy actually doing a specific task and that is why you have been putting it off, but to me it is worth doing something you don’t like if the result makes you happy and it lightens your load. So today I implore everyone to do something they have been putting off, trust me it will make you feel so good.

Leave a Reply

