My Dementia Awareness Week 2016

dementia

This last week has been my busiest week since I launched my book on dementia titled “Unbreakable Bond.”

The week actually started last Friday when I recorded an interview with Pirate FM, one of the biggest commercial radio stations in the South West. This interview went out on Monday and you can listen to it here:

http://www.piratefm.co.uk/blogs/wheres-your-head-at/unbreakable-bond/

Then on Monday, ITV Westcountry filmed a feature on dementia with me, which aired across the southwest on Tuesday evening:

http://www.itv.com/news/westcountry/update/2016-05-18/dementia-fears-preventing-people-from-seeing-gps/

On Wednesday I was invited by Alzheimer’s Society South West to speak at the Cornwall Dementia Action Alliance Partnership Launch at the Royal Cornwall Showground.

This was all off the back of being published in “The Journal of Dementia Care” last week.

The best thing about being this busy, is the number of people I am being able to touch and impact with my story, as that is what it is all about. Thanks to all these media companies and charities I can touch more people than I can by myself and I appreciate every one of them.

Inspirational

I have met some very inspirational people this week and heard a lot of personal stories about how dementia has affected them. If it wasn’t for Dementia Awareness Week I may not have heard these stories or been touched by them and it has been so important to me to hear them. So often in life we get caught up in our own lives and problems, but hearing from other people gave me insight and perspective, which was really appreciated.

Thanks to everyone I have worked with this week, with the raised media profile, my book “Unbreakable Bond” made it back to the top of the bestseller charts. This wouldn’t have happened if it weren’t for everything that happened this week. It’s not for vanity that this is important but because the more books I sell, the more lives the story of my mum and I can help and that is what it is all about.

Proud

I hope my mum is proud of what has been accomplished this week and the fact that she can continue to play her part for years to come in helping people affected by dementia.

To find out more about my book and get a copy go to:

www.unbreakablebond.co.uk

Leave a Reply

