Taking any challenge

Sometimes it seems like some of the things that we are involved in will never succeed. That some of the ambitions we have are unobtainable. Some of our dreams just too far away. Some people shy away from projects where there isn’t a high chance of success. Most people are just not interested in trying to do something to help something, which may seem like it is failing.

When I look at challenges I don’t just look for ones that are going to succeed, I look for things that are important to me and things that I can help. Even if the project doesn’t succeed, if I can say that I played a measurable part in getting it closer than anyone thought we would to succeeding, then that is good enough for me and I will sleep well in the knowledge that I got it closer to succeeding than anyone thought it would.

Are you too scared of failure?

We live in a world where people are too scared of failure. Failure doesn’t define you and doesn’t stay with you if you don’t let it. As long as you learn with every failure and can say that you put your all in to it, then you have not failed. Don’t let the chance of failure stop you from putting your hardest effort in either. If people think a project is going to fail they start to think it doesn’t matter if they don try hard but that is a mindset which is not going to get you where you want to be in life.

Offer what you have

Don’t get involved with projects you can’t offer anything to. Don’t just go in to a projectand feel good because of the work of others. If you are going to get in to a project make sure you can contribute to it and give it your all. If time is all you can offer, then offer it abundance. Being able to spin it on your CV that you played a critical role in a successful project may get you an interview but if that is a lie and you can’t back it up, then you will soon be found out.

Regardless of what the project is and regardless of whether people know it or not, I want to go home everyday knowing that I made a tangible difference and that it mattered that I gave up my time to do something for it.

Leave a Reply

