Raising hope

Embed from Getty Images

It seems to me at times like the world is full of people giving others false hope and raising their expectations unfairly.

A subject that is very close to my heart is dementia. For the last few years I have seen so many newspaper headlines about possible new cures or preventions for the condition, but still a universally available and used treatment seems to me, to be very far away. Don’t get me wrong I am very happy that people are researching it and trying to find a solution, I just wish it wasn’t plastered all over the news every time a possible breakthrough is found. I would just rather hear about it when a tested and proven treatment is found.

Promising the earth

Another thing I see in society a lot these days is people who will promise other people the earth without knowing if they can deliver what they said they have. It seems people are reckless with what they promise, as I have seen so many promise so much and deliver so little. I have been guilty of this too in the past, so now I am trying to be more realistic with what I can offer. I would rather offer little and deliver big than offer big and deliver little.

If someone promises something, it raises people hopes and people start thinking like it is already a done deal that those promises are going to happen. I think it is human nature sometimes to get ahead of ourselves and I think we need a culture change of how we react when people start promising things but more importantly we need a world where people stop promising things that they can’t guarantee.

Help others

I think hope is an important thing to have in life, as without hope, life can feel a little bleak at times. I hate when I see peoples hope taken advantage of or smashed to pieces when they are built up only to be brought down. A lot of my life is based on hope and I would be lost without it, so I want to do everything to keep mine whilst helping others to have hope and keep their hope.

My call to everyone reading my blog this week is to review the promises you make, think about others and be someone who delivers. Never forget how important it is to deliver on things and don’t just give up too easily, make your promises mean something and think about the people you are affecting when you don’t live up to your promises.

Leave a Reply

