Learn to forgive, learn to let go

I don’t talk about it much on my blog but I love music. One of my current favourites is ‘Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself’ by Jess Glynne.

I have a real passion for quotes and lyrics. This song features a line that really got me thinking this week. The line was “learn to forgive, learn to let go.” I think this is simple advice that a lot of people need to follow, me included or should I stay especially me!

Things you don’t agree with

I think a lot of people do things that you don’t agree with, think things you don’t agree with, say things you don’t agree with or have views that you don’t agree with. Sometimes you can’t change what people do or think, sometimes the only thing you can control is how you react and the only good thing to do is to forgive.

Learning that you can’t always change someone’s views or opinions is an important thing to learn. Just because you know that you can’t always change someone’s views, you don’t need to give up hope that one day they will change. The way I want to be judged in life is how I treat others and I know in the past I have treated people badly, so I don’t want to fall in to that trap again. You can’t control how people treat you but you can control how you treat them and how you let them affect you.

We are not constant

As people we are not constant, one moment, one thought, does not define who we are. People are changing entities, some people change at a rapid pace whilst some are slower. Having the ability to recognize that and not let one thing define how you think about someone is a great strength to have.

When someone does something that annoys you or frustrates you, try and think of two things that are good about them or two things that they have done well. Don’t let yourself be blinded to the good in people. Try and remain balanced in your thoughts and how you view people.

If you forgive, you stop getting frustrated by others and hating others. Forgiving people frees you and stops people hurting you. Learning to let go lets you handle life, people and situations a lot better. All I want to do in life is handle it as best as I can and I hope that’s what others want as well.

To finish with and to steal another line from Jess Glynne “everyone trips, everyone falls.” I think we would be wise to remember this at times.

Leave a Reply

