The thing that annoys me about Facebook

Embed from Getty Images

The ‘Trending’ section of Facebook really sums up what is wrong with society, media and news. I never really give it much notice when I am on Facebook but will normally give the column a customary glance, whilst very rarely clicking on any of the stories. Over the last few weeks though I have noticed an ever-increasing tide of irrelevancy popping up in that section.

Like one the other day, I went on and one of the trending items was a famous person whose name I can’t remember wears bikini on a beach that I can’t (again) remember what beach it was. When did these things become a) news and b) worthy of our attention?

Not news

Stop press – someone wears bikini on beach – shocking! Where somebody is and what they are wearing isn’t news! Don’t get me wrong I am not looking for thought provoking, deep or investigative news on Facebook but this, really? If you want social irrelevancy, isn’t that what your timeline and newsfeed are for?

I am guessing to become trending it means that a lot of people on Facebook are talking about it but surely the reason people are talking about it is because Facebook pages with lots of likes are posting about it and spreading it round the world that way? I could be wrong but it seems the trending section is not organic and is just giving more publicity to what news and media companies want us to be talking about.

Substance

I know celebrity stories are always going to be popular and be a part of news, I just wish the stories had more substance. News headlines shouldn’t be made purely on what a famous person is wearing and where they are when they were wearing it. Today I am wearing jeans and a hoodie, which isn’t newsworthy, but if a celebrity was caught out of the house wearing jeans and a hoodie someone would be reporting about it somewhere in the world, it would then be put on Facebook and everyone would know that vitally important update.

I think Facebook would be better served to have an editorial that gives a range of the subjects that matter to people on Facebook, not just what the most talked about or read post is. Don’t like starting my week with a rant but I have wanted to write about this for a little while now and am glad to have it off my chest.

Leave a Reply

