Helping others doesn’t have to cost you anything

In a previous blog I talked about my mission this year to show more love than I receive, to love more than I am loved. A big part of this for me, is going to be performing acts of kindness whenever I can see the opportunity and helping people that need help.

Its only February and already I have had many chances to help people and I have taken them all. It’s surprising when you are on the look out for ways to help others, opportunities just seem to present themselves. At the beginning of the year I didn’t think I would have found the opportunities that I have already. It’s not even been hard work to find them.

Working with the right people

One of my favourite ways I have helped people already this year is giving money to a charity to help those affected by flooded in Sri Lanka and it didn’t even cost me anything! Last year I did a Crowdfunder to get my book published. In the budget were funds to hire a graphics designer to design the cover for the book. I managed to get the graphics designer for less money than I thought I would and to top it off he passed his fee on to the charity in Sri Lanka without taking a penny for himself. If I hadn’t started the book or the Crowdfunder, these people in Sri Lanka wouldn’t have got the vital aid they received. I never thought I would be able to help people in ways like this through the book but I am so glad I could.

Eyes open

This week in work, collection boxes have been put up for donations of clothes and supplies to be sent to refugees in Syria. So this week I will be going through my home and donating whatever I can. I have things in my house, which rarely get used and could be made better use of, which I can’t wait to donate. I hope we will be able to make a real difference with what we give and again this won’t cost me anything.

Many people shy away from helping others as it either costs money or time but there are so many ways where it doesn’t have to if you just look for the opportunities. Sometimes the simplest acts of kindness are the most impactful and powerful. Anyone can help anyone regardless of what they have or don’t have and regardless of their own situation.

Leave a Reply

