Spreading your wings

Over the last few weeks I have been invited to write for some very exciting projects. Some are online, some are in books and some are in magazines. I am excited about all of these new opportunities but most of all I am so happy I decided to start this blog.

It is because of this blog that people have got to hear about me, to know of my work and to know of my thoughts & feelings. This blog has given me a chance to express my views on the world to anyone who wishes to read them. If it wasn’t for my writings and ramblings on this blog none of these opportunities may have come about.

Freedom

The great thing about blogging is that you can create your own space for free online and write about what you want to write about; in a way you want to write about it. On a blog you are your own writer and editor with no restrictions. There are few places where you can get this freedom to express yourself so I would encourage anyone to get in to blogging. I am thankful for everyone that does view the blog but I just enjoy being able to write my thoughts down and if they help or inspire then that is just a bonus (a very big one at that though).

Writing for other people and companies has been a much different experience than blogging. Instead of writing something, proofing it and posting it like I do with my blog, writing for others is a more involved process. The process of writing for others has involved a lot of communication, going back and forth on ideas and then a lot of drafting and re-drafting. When writing for others you have to understand that your words are being used for someone else’s mission and vision, you have to understand that they know their audience better than you do and you have to be prepared to take criticism of your work.

Hope

My hope from these new projects is that they will help me become a better writer and help improve the quality of my own blog, at the same time as getting my name out there and gaining more awareness. I hope that what I have written about in this blog encourages others to spread their wings and take on new challenges. Never be afraid to try something new or different, as you never know where it might take you.

From one blog, my sphere of influence is about to increase in big ways, bigger ways that I could have imagined when I started writing last year. If you want to know where your writing can take you, again I urge you to start a blog. Over the next few weeks I will be able to share a little more about where my words will be featured but I for one am very excited by what lies ahead.

Leave a Reply

