Get on the Bus

This week I have been getting the bus on my daily commute to and from work, so that my wife could have the car for a change as we are a one car family and she rarely gets the car.

We used to be a two-car family but we sold one of our cars last year, as it didn’t make sense financially any more to run two cars. I think cars cost so much to run regardless of how much you use them, especially in this country with Road Tax, M.O.T, repairs, wear and tear, insurance, break down cover etc.

If I took the cost of running the car over the year and worked out what it was a week I think the bus has been a much cheaper option than commuting by car. This week may have cost me more to get to work, because we still have the car but it did open my eyes to how much money we could save, by not running a car and just relying on public transport.

The price of convenience

I think we live in a society that wants convenience at any cost; we now pay for convenience without thinking of the long-term cost or if there is a cheaper way of doing things, because that would take time and not be convenient. I think we have brought in to a world where we think we have to have things, but if you take a step back, there are many things we could quite happily do with out and live without in life.

Long-term cost

Because we can get so many things on direct-debit and pay-monthly, we don’t stop to think at the long-term cost, because the monthly payment seems so small and manageable. I think the best thing to do when thinking of signing up for something which is pay monthly, is to look at how much it will cost over the year and then how much it will cost for the length of time that you think you will have it, whether it be a phone contract or a TV subscription. Once you have those figures, ask yourself what you could do with that money? And if what you are paying still seems worth it?

If I were you, when you look at things like this and decide not to take out the contract or the pay monthly deal I would then put whatever you were going to spend on it, in to savings and see what you can do with it.

I think all of us once in a while should give up a convenience and see what life is like, as I don’t think it will be as bad as you think it would be.

Leave a Reply

