Goal Achieved

In the space of 3 weeks I managed to successfully Crowdfund £600, to enable me to get my eBook “Unbreakable Bond” made available in to a physical print copy, available from booksellers across the globe. When I started, I never thought that I would get up to £600 but in the end I went beyond £600 and raised £650.

There were days when I didn’t think I was going to make it, when nothing was coming in, days when I thought I had exhausted every avenue I could think of to promote the campaign but I should never have got down about it, as you never know when amazing acts of generosity are going to come your way.

I had always wanted to do a Crowdfunder campaign but this was my first and the feeling that I have, now I have successfully achieved it is something I can’t put in to words. Not everyone succeeds with their first Crowdfunder and there are many campaigns across the globe that fail, so to be one of the ones that succeeded is incredible.

Everything has to start somewhere

What this whole process has shown me is that slow starts don’t always mean it isn’t possible; they are just a reminder of how hard you have to work. Everything has to start from somewhere and the support of just one person can change everything. Don’t expect miracles overnight but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t hope for some down the line.

I finished penning my book in 2013 and it has been a long road since that day. I spent a year trying to get the book published the conventional way through a publisher and after many near misses, I decided that it was best to just get my book out there, so I released it as an Ebook on Amazon. I am so glad I did because since that day it has taken off. I could have just given up and the book could have been kept to the confines of my computer hard drive, but doing it myself has shown that there is a place for this story and a want for it, out there in the world.

Reaching as many people as possible

Newspapers have done articles about it, care and dementia organisations have endorsed it but most importantly, it has touched lives, which I have seen by the reviews that have been coming in. The support for the Crowdfunder has further proven to me that there are people who want this book to reach as many people as possible.

My word of advice is, if you are a writer or want to be a writer – just get your work out there. In this modern age there is more than one way to get your work to market and if your writing is good enough, your story interesting enough and you are willing to put the hard work in to promote it, then you can have success.

Leave a Reply

