My first adventure in to Crowdfunding

I have been a big fan of Crowdfunding for some time. I have contributed to some Crowdfunding Campaigns and have helped promote some, but never have I done one myself before and I have to say I am quite excited to have this week started my first.

The mission – to raise £600, so I can release my book ‘Unbreakable Bond’ (which is currently available in eBook form), in print. For those that don’t the story about my book, it was something I wrote as a promise to my mum before she passed away in 2013 at the age of 54, after battling early onset dementia. The book is full of my stories and experiences caring for my mum, over the years before she died.

Doing everything myself

As I am self publishing it means that I have to do everything myself from getting the ISBN to making sure the artwork for the cover, spine and back are all in the right format. I have also budgeted money for marketing and buying stock of the book.

The reason for getting it published in print form, isn’t for vanity, the reason behind it is a want to get the book in as many hands as possible. Having it available in print with an ISBN number will mean that anyone can walk in to any bookshop in the world and a order a copy. Although eBooks are becoming increasingly popular, there is still a huge market for paperback, so it is important that the book is available in that form.

Awareness

On top of just making it available in paperback, I think the marketing budget is key as I just don’t want to make it available, I want people to know that it is out there. This is why I have gone down the Crowdfunding route. I could have just released it on my own in print without an ISBN for free, somewhere that no one will find it but that to me seemed pointless.

Going down the Crowdfunding route will give those that donate to the campaign a sense of ownership of the book and the campaign in itself will act as a marketing drive, for when the book finally does become available in print. I think my book is an interesting Crowdfunding proposition as it ticks so many boxes. The book isn’t just a book it’s a cause; it is something I have created to make a positive impact in the world. Writing is art and a book is art, so it is a creative project and I am trying to do something new and get a project off the ground, which are all things that to me Crowdfunding is about.

Ownership

I have been involved in charities for many years and have done many fundraising activities and events. It just feels great now to be able to do a fundraising campaign for my own project as I feel so much ownership of it.

I hope this blog has inspired you in some way and I would really appreciate it if you had the time or money to donate to the cause or help me promote it by sharing the link:

http://www.gofundme.com/unbreakablebond

Leave a Reply

