Carers Week

Carers_Week_profile_photo

A few weeks back I blogged about Dementia Awareness Week here in the UK:

https://adamsibley.wordpress.com/2015/05/20/national-dementia-awareness-week/

This week it is Carers Week, another week that I feel highly passionate about. So many people in this world are doing such an amazing job, which goes unnoticed so often that anything we can do to highlight them and what they go through is very important.

To find out more about Carers Week go here:

http://www.carersweek.org/

The goal of the week is to highlight the challenges carers face and recognise the contribution they make. These were two of the main things I wanted to do with the book I wrote on dementia care, as I to believe these to be important things to do.

Just because many carers aren’t looking for reward or for a pat on the back, it doesn’t mean we should let their amazing work go unnoticed. Many carers aren’t looking for sympathy either, most are just looking for understanding.

Duty

Caring is something that will affect so many of us in our lifetime, whether it is caring for somebody else or being cared for yourself. I think it is the duty of us all to make sure that people get the best care and that the carers get the best care also.

Once you have been a carer, it is an experience you will never forget. Some like me may want to share it, but others will want to keep it to themselves. There are so many carers past and present out there that have so much experience and so many skills. I think you can learn a lot about life from a carer and that carers are invaluable to our society.

Do something for a carer

I would implore all my readers to do something for a carer this week. If you know someone who is a carer, why not just pick up the phone and ask them how they are. If you see someone in your travels doing some caring, stop to think for a second and see if there is anything you can do to help them, just the small things like opening a door for them could mean the world.

Carers don’t go around wearing a badge or a neon sign over their head, but it doesn’t mean that they aren’t all around us. Like I said earlier, there are some people you would never know are carers. When people go home from work or school, the rest of their time maybe spent caring.

I am proud to have been a carer. I am ready to be a carer again if the need ever arose and I want to do everything I can to help other carers out there.

If you want to learn more about my life as a carer, my journey and my story of caring for my mum with dementia, then please check out my book ‘Unbreakable Bond.’

To mark Carers Week the book has this week been made available through Barnes and Noble for people who use the Nook E-Reader and will be available on Kobo before the week is over. It is of course also still available on Amazon and I have put both links below for you to choose from:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unbreakable-bond-adam-sibley/1122088956?ean=2940151449557

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Unbreakable-Bond-Adam-Sibley-ebook/dp/B00UM6ATBW

Leave a Reply

