National Exposure

As many of you are aware, I have written a book about my experiences caring for my mum who had early onset dementia. What you may not also know, is that I am a media volunteer for Alzheimer’s Research UK, the leading UK research charity aiming to defeat dementia:

http://www.alzheimersresearchuk.org/

This week Alzheimer’s Research UK launched their first major awareness raising campaign, with a host of media activity. As part of this activity, adverts started appearing on TV and articles in newspapers. Yesterday I was alerted to the news that one of my quotes had been used not only by local newspapers, but by ‘The Telegraph’, one of England’s leading newspapers:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/

IMG_2811

My name has appeared in national publications before, but I think is the first time I have been quoted. To be quoted in an article about dementia is very humbling to me. I have published a book as I want my words to make a difference in the fight to defeat dementia and this week they have been put out there in front of a huge audience.

One of the ways I want to be remembered in life, is for being someone that did something about dementia. When people think of the name Adam Sibley I want them to think of someone who did something to change the world for the better.

I want to increase my position of influence, so I can then use that increased influence to make even more of a difference. Having my name in ‘The Telegraph’ I hope will be something that does increase my position of influence, but only time will tell. I am not hungry for notoriety for myself, but for the difference I could make with it.

I am proud of both my book and to be a media volunteer with Alzheimer’s Research UK. My hope is that both things can and will make a difference for many years to come. I am in this fight against dementia for the long haul. Dementia isn’t something that is going to be conquered over night but I am aware of this and am ready for this. My aim is to not give up no matter what and keep doing my little bit to help.

2 thoughts on “National Exposure

  1. Well done Adam. I have read your book and my only regret is that I was unable to read it 7 years ago when my father-in-law had dementia that eventually took his life. I know your book would have been an incredible encouragement to our family then and so very insightful in better understanding what we all experienced. So the next best thing is that my hope is that your book will encourage others today and in the future that go through this ravaging disease.

    Like

Leave a Reply

