30-Minute Burst Challenge

Embed from Getty Images

Last week I blogged about getting out in the garden and doing some gardening because of the lovely weather we are experiencing, here in the south west of England:

https://adamsibley.wordpress.com/2015/04/15/the-sun-is-here/

Our back garden is quite big and in the back we have two areas that need a lot of love, the front garden is small, but again there are two flower beds that really need some attention. Since my last blog about gardening my wife and I have been out in the gardens keeping up the commitment, in the hope to see them one day looking good and becoming easy to manage.

I tend to go out in the garden and work in 30-minute bursts. I do this because I am a believer in quality over quantity. I believe working at things in this fashion is the best way and is how I attack many projects in life.

If I go out and spend 2 hours in the garden, many things will happen. The first thing is – I will get tired. When you get tired that normally leads to many things happening, like putting less effort in, liking the job less and being much less likely to want to go out and do more tomorrow. With working in 30-minute bursts I don’t get bored, I don’t get tired and at the end I always want to do more.

I would much rather keep hold of that feeling of wanting to do more when I come in over that of wishing I had stopped earlier. I think you will get more done in 4 30-minute bursts than you would in a 2-hour session. If you are going to put the hard work in, you should want to get the maximum reward for it.

Another thing I do is I don’t set myself targets of what I want to achieve when it comes to gardening. I think if you set yourself goals and you’re like me, you will want to achieve them and by doing this you end up rushing and not doing a thorough job. Sometimes (especially with weeding at the moment) jobs take you longer than you expected and if you set yourself a goal you would either be disheartened that you didn’t achieve it, or annoyed with yourself that you didn’t do a thorough job.

I haven’t set myself an end date for when I want the garden complete, but I know I am going to keep working at it until that day comes, because of the manageable system my wife and I have. By doing 30-minutes a day I don’t resent it, it doesn’t tire me out and I can fit it in to most evenings, without affecting anything else we have planned to do.

I would encourage everyone to take up the 30-minute burst challenge and see how it helps you to achieve something that you have been trying to achieve this year.

Leave a Reply

