Anniversary

This weekend I will celebrate my first wedding anniversary with my wife. I have been reflecting a lot this week on our first year of marriage. Feels literally just like yesterday that we were getting married. Since we’ve been married we’ve both embraced new challenges and opportunities in life together, travelled abroad and gone about setting up a lovely home.

On this day last year, my wife and I would have been working feverishly to get things done for our wedding, as we did a DIY wedding and created everything from the order of service to the food at our wedding breakfast. Because we were so busy we didn’t really get time to sit and enjoy the build up to the day but even though it was super busy, it was still fun and I am still so proud of the day we created.

As an anniversary present for my wife I have been editing our wedding footage together this week and am hopeful that by the weekend we will have an amazing video that we can keep forever. The church service for our wedding was absolutely amazing, even watching it back as I edit it I am taken back to the feelings and emotions I had that day.

I think milestones are important and any chance to celebrate a relationship or an event should be taken. I know some people don’t make a big fuss of their anniversary but I am so glad my wife and I have the time off this weekend to celebrate it properly. I just hope that we are blessed with 70 more anniversaries at least, as getting married to my wife was the most amazing thing I have ever done in my life and the best decision I have ever made.

I would like to congratulate everyone out there who is celebrating an anniversary this year and never forget, anniversaries are what you make them.

Leave a Reply

