Being Proud

Following on from my recent blog titled ‘Finding Your Niche’, today I want to talk about ‘Being Proud.’ In ‘Finding Your Niche’ I talked about how it is important to find your passion and pursue it, well now I want to talk about being proud of your passions.

I must start by saying, as I write this I have been listening to and singing along to “Let it Go” from the Disney film Frozen whilst being called a wonderful loser by my wife. I have no shame in saying as a 30 year old man that I think it’s a great song to sing along to.

I think being proud of our hobbies and interest makes us happier people. I think we scrutinize and pigeon hole each other far too much in this world. As a people I think we feel the need to either hide, or have to justify our hobbies and interests.

Some people are fortunate enough to turn their hobbies and interests in to paying work or companies and in the main, I think these are the people that aren’t ashamed of the things the like.

I hate how people conform and like things, just because they think it is the thing to do or will make them cool. I also feel sorry to those that have to hide things to avoid being bullied in school. I think it is at school that we make these decisions of what to like & what to hide and it is these decisions that dictate our future life and how we handle it in adulthood.

We also live in a world today when posting on social media or telling your friends about how you miss your wife is seen as making you less of a man. You are given your sex at birth you don’t need to do anything else to claim or show you are a man; it’s on your birth certificate.

I would love to encourage anyone who reads this blog to be loud and proud. To make today the day that they started owning what they were about. I will start: I love my wife she is the best thing to happen to me, I am a Christian, I like Arsenal, I like TV and I like Pro-Wrestling.

I couldn’t care about being the coolest person as that is not a competition I want to win or be apart of. I want to win the competition of being the happiest person on earth, because just remember fitting in and being cool won’t win you the happiest person on earth award.

Leave a Reply

