Distractions

For the last two weeks I have been away with my wife having the most amazing honeymoon roadtripping across America. Instead of spending days on end in front of screens whether that be computers, phones, TV’s and the like we instead we were on the open road communicating by that old fashioned technique of speaking and listening whilst using our eyes to take in the world around us.

I think removing distractions makes you more aware of your surroundings and what is actually going on in your life. During the honeymoon we saw some amazing things, met some lovely people and ate so much delicious food but the thing I enjoyed the most was the quality time we spent together.

I think it is nearly impossible in todays day and age not to spend parts of your day looking at a screen but I think the more we can pull ourselves away from them the better our quality of life will be. I think if we did spend less time on our gadgets we would get more done and there would be less people complaining about not having enough time in the day to do everything.

I think for so many people now it’s just a force of habit to check their smartphone every few minutes with not even thinking about it. With so much available at the tips of your fingers you go on your phone to do something but somehow end up scrolling your facebook or twitter an forget why you were on the phone in the first place.

I think I am going to spend more time figuring out how phones, tablets and computers fit in to my life rather than fitting my life around them as I want to say I enjoyed life when I look back on it and that I experienced everything there was to offer around me.

Leave a Reply

